Armitage-Jameson Prize


2017 Armitage-Jameson Prize winner Katrina Jagodinsky with Prize Committee Chair Elizabeth Escobedo at the 2017 CWWH Annual Breakfast in San Diego, California.

The CWWH awards the Armitage-Jameson Prize annually for the most outstanding monograph or edited volume published in western women’s, gender, and sexuality history. The Prize is named in honor of Susan Armitage and Elizabeth Jameson for their pioneering work in the field of western women’s history. See a list of previous award recipients here: Armitage-Jameson Prize Recipients, 2010-Present.

Deadline for the 2018 Award Submission: May 15, 2018.

Prize Call

The CWWH is pleased to announce the seventh annual Armitage-Jameson Prize for the most outstanding monograph or edited volume published in western women’s, gender, sexuality history in 2017. To be eligible, the book must be published in 2017 and address women and gender in the North American West, which includes the relevant geographic regions of Canada and Mexico, as well as United States territories, past and present. The award recipient will receive $1000 and the publishing press will receive a certificate. The award will be presented at the CWWH Breakfast at the 2018 Western History Association annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Presses are limited to the nomination of five titles and should send a copy of the nominated book to each member of the committee by May 15, 2018. Late submissions will not be considered.

$$ Donate to the Armitage-Jameson Fund here! $$

Armitage-Jameson Prize Committee
Sarah Eppler Janda (Chair)
Armitage-Jameson Prize Committee Chair
627 South Shepler
Department of History & Government
Cameron University
2800 W. Gore Blvd.
Lawton, OK 73505-6377

Honor Sachs
Armitage-Jameson Prize Committee
Department of History
204B McKee Building
Western Carolina University
1 University Way
Cullowhee, NC 28723

Katrina Jagodinsky
Armitage-Jameson Prize Committee
University of Nebraska Department of History
606 Oldfather Hall
Lincoln, NE 68588-0327


CWWH Book Award Flyer