Jensen-Miller Award

The Western History Association offers and administers the Jensen-Miller Award for the best article in the field of women and gender in the North American West. The Award is named in honor of Joan Jensen and Darlis Miller for their significant contributions to the field of western women’s history.

Jensen-Miller Award Recipients, 1990-Present.

Award Eligibility:
No time period restrictions apply, and essays will be judged on their significance to the field, their contributions to knowledge, and their literary quality. Any WHA member, as well as the publisher or author of the essay, may nominate an essay. The Charles Redd Center for Western Studies at Brigham Young University funds this $500 cash prize and provides a plaque to the author of the winning essay. The publisher will receive a certificate. To be eligible for the award in 2021, the articles should have been published in 2020 in a scholarly journal or edited volume.

Any WHA member, publisher, or author of an essay/article, may nominate work that was published in 2020. Unless a journal editor notifies you about nominating your work, authors must submit a copy of the journal, an offprint, or a photocopy to each member of the award committee listed below.

Journals, editors, and authors may submit nominations electronically through the email addresses provided below. Submissions must be one pdf file and include the cover page, copyright page, and table of contents of journals and anthologies in addition to the article/essay.

For more information or to submit or nominate a piece for the Award visit the WHA Jensen-Miller Award information.


-2021 Awards Cycle opens January 25, 2021

-2021 Award Submission (Postmark) Deadline: April 15, 2021

The WHA office sends award notifications in August. View a list of past recipients.